Levon Helm: The Levon Helm Band ‘The Midnight Ramble Sessions: Volume 3’ - Available Today!

Available Now! 

The release of The Levon Helm Band – The Midnight Ramble Sessions Volume 3 on Vanguard/Levon Helm Studios represents the last musical project with which the late drummer of The Band was involved. Helm personally hand-picked the album’s 13 songs from a five-year period of live Midnight Ramble recordings, 2006-2010 at the Barn, with his longtime band member and musical director, multi-instrumentalist Larry Campbell. The album features performances from the Levon Helm Band with special guests including the Black Crowes’ Chris Robinson, Jimmy Vivino, Elvis Costello and New Orleans legend Allen Toussaint, capturing the homespun spirit of those gatherings, a worthy posthumous tribute to Helm’s indomitable spirit and peerless musical abilities. Aside from listening to hours of tapes to come up with the final song selection, Helm also designed the cover art for the album.

Campbell explains that, after the Electric Dirt record, he and Levon began formulating what a third album might encompass. “He wanted it to be more representative of what this band was like at a live show, featuring all of the players,” says Campbell. “Levon was having health problems, so our plan was to go through the archives and pull out tunes that best showed what our lifestyle was like.  That was his real, main motive, to showcase the band as best we could. And then he chose the tunes that he liked playing, and we edited it down to fit on a single CD. “There were probably 20 songs that he initially wanted us to include, but these were the ones we all finally decided were best.”

The Midnight Ramble Sessions, Volume 3 Track Listing:
1) The Same Thing (Levon Helm) 2/14/09 
2) Ain’t That Good News (Amy Helm) 8/28/10 
3) God Don’t Never Change (Jimmy Vivino ) 1/10/09 
4) Drivin’ Wheel (Levon Helm) 5/16/09 
5) I’m A Jealous Man (Larry Campbell) 1/31/09 
6) Stagger Lee (Little Sammy Davis) 10/18/05 
7) Simple Twist of Fate (Brian Mitchell) 3/14/09 
8) One More Shot (Levon Helm) 12/9/06 
9) Turn Around (Teresa Williams) 5/9/09 
10) The Beautiful Lie (Amy Helm, Teresa Williams, Fiona McBain) 1/3/09 
11) A Certain Girl (Allen Toussaint) 1/1/07 
12) Shake Your Money Maker (Chris Robinson) 8/23/08 
13) Take Me To The River (Levon Helm) 2/10/07